Memorial Day Weekend Closings
All Indianapolis Public Library locations will be closed May 28 - 30 for the Memorial Day holiday weekend, except the InfoZone which will be open each day from 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Southport Branch closing
The Southport Branch will be closed for renovation May 31, June 1, and June 2.

East Washington Branch Closing
The East Washington Branch has been closed for renovation. More updates coming soon.

"Published! She Wrote!" Women Writers Exhibit Opens at Central Library

February 03, 2011

Laughing with Lucy

The prolific collections of nationally-known women authors with Indianapolis connections are featured in a new exhibit in the Nina Mason Pulliam Indianapolis Special Collections Room at Central Library, 40 E. St. Clair Street.

"Published! She Wrote" recognizes the many women writers from Indianapolis who have contributed to all genres of literature, expanded the world of information, and helped form our national identity. Though Indianapolis was known as a cultural capital of the Midwest in the early 20th century, producing such iconic male authors as James Whitcomb Riley, Meredith Nicholson, Booth Tarkington and Kurt Vonnegut, Jr., many women writers from Indianapolis were contributing significant literary works as well.

Guardians of Ga'Hoole

C. L. Moore stands as one of the early writers of science fiction. Her works were often written with her husband and published under a male pen-name. Evangeline Walton was another fantasy fiction writers featured in the exhibit, as are well-known poets Mari Evans and Ruth Stone. Janet Flanner, whose 50-year work for The New Yorker made her one of Indianapolis' best-known journalists, is featured, along with the works of Kathryn Lasky, a prolific children's author whose Ga’Hoole trilogy is the basis for an upcoming movie.

Visitors will learn about Madelyn Pugh Davis, a graduate of Shortridge High School who became a trailblazer for female writers in television. Davis created the "I Love Lucy" series for Lucille Ball during a 40-year association with the famous actress that began during the vaudeville era.

With support from the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library Foundation through a gift from the Christel DeHaan Family Foundation, the exhibit was created by a Central Library team that researched and built Central Library’s women writers collection.

The exhibit, located on the 6th floor at Central Library, is available for free public viewing during Central Library hours of service through December 2011.