Winners Named for 2012 Indiana Authors Award

July 12, 2012

John GreenIndianapolis author John Green is the National Author winner for the 4th annual Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award, a program of The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation that recognizes the contributions of Indiana authors to the literary landscape in Indiana and across the nation. The New York Times bestselling young adult author was named by a nine-member statewide panel following a six-week nomination period.

Green's works, which include The Fault in Our Stars; Looking for Alaska; An Abundance of Katherines; and Paper Towns, have earned numerous awards, such as the Chicago Tribune Young Adult Fiction prize, the Michael L. Printz Award and the Edgar Award. The National Author award carries a $10,000 prize along with a $2,500 grant to a public library of the author's choosing. It is given to a writer with Indiana ties, but whose work is known throughout the country. Past winners include Margaret McMullan (2011), Scott Russell Sanders (2010) and James Alexander Thom (2009).

Barbara ShoupIn addition to the National Author winner, Indianapolis author and current executive director of the Writers' Center of Indiana Barbara Shoup has been named winner of the Regional Author award, presented to a writer who is well-known and respected throughout Indiana. Shoup will receive a $7,500 prize as well as a $2,500 grant designated to a public library of her choice. Shoup has authored numerous novels for adults and young adults, in addition to short fiction, poetry, essays and interviews. Her seventh novel, An American Tune, will be published in September.

Dan WakefieldFor the first time, a Lifetime Achievement award has been given to local author Dan Wakefield, whose bestselling novels Going All the Way and Starting Over were produced as feature films. Among his many works, he is the creator of the prime time television series, "James at Fifteen." His memoir, Returning: A Spiritual Journey, was called by Bill Moyers "one of the most important memoirs of the spirit I have read." Wakefield also will receive a $2,500 grant to designate to a public library.

Also, finalists have been announced for the Emerging Author award, presented to a writer who has published no more than two books in his or her lifetime and within the last 10 years. The recipient also will receive a $2,500 grant designated to a public library. This year's finalists are Christopher Coake, Sherri Wood Emmons and Douglas Light.

Winners will be honored at the Indiana Authors Award dinner on Saturday, September 29 at Central Library in downtown Indianapolis, where Green will be the keynote speaker. Ticket information is available by contacting the Library Foundation at (317) 275-4700 or by visiting

The Indiana Authors Award is funded through the generosity of The Glick Fund, a fund of Central Indiana Community Foundation.