Independence Day
All Indianapolis Public Library locations will be closed on Wednesday, July 4 in observance of Independence Day, except the InfoZone which will be open from 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Nominations Sought for 2013 Indiana Authors Award

February 20, 2013

Nominate an Author for the Indiana Authors AwardA call for nominations for the 2013 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award, a program of The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation, continues through March 22, 2013. The Award recognizes the contributions of Indiana authors to the literary landscape in Indiana and across the nation. It is funded by the generosity of The Glick Fund, a fund of Central Indiana Community Foundation.

The Indiana Authors Award invites involvement beginning with the nomination process and continues throughout the year with outreach to organizations serving readers and writers and an interactive website. It culminates with a day of free public programs and a ticketed Award Dinner on Oct. 26, 2013 at the Central Library downtown.

Any published writer who was born in Indiana or who has lived in Indiana for at least five consecutive years is eligible for nomination. An eight-member, statewide award panel will select winners in three categories from the publicly nominated authors: National Author ($10,000 prize), Regional Author ($7,500 prize), and Emerging Author ($5,000 prize). In addition, each author's Indiana hometown public library will receive a $2,500 grant from the Library Foundation.

In 2012, bestselling young adult author John Green was presented with the National Author award while Barbara Shoup received the Regional Author award and Christopher Coake received the Emerging Author award.

Nomination forms are available until March 22 at The nomination process is quick, easy and free of charge. Complete information and eligibility guidelines are included on the nomination forms. New this year, authors previously nominated in the past four years will be considered again for the 2013 Awards. To provide additional comments for a previously nominated author, email

To submit a 2013 nomination or to learn more, contact The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation at (317) 275-4700 or visit