Yum for Everyone – Allergy & Specialty Cookbooks for Kids

Yum for Everyone – Allergy & Specialty Cookbooks for Kids

There are three types of general diets for animals and people:

  • Carnivore – Eats mainly or only meat. Examples: Coyotes, cheetahs, wolves, lions & tigers.
  • Herbivore – Eats mainly or only plants. Examples: Cows, horses, deer, sheep, giraffes, rabbits & manatees.
  • Omnivore – Eats both meat and plants. Examples: Bears, skunks, raccoons, chimpanzees.

Humans are generally omnivores. Our physiology, or our body, makes it possible for us to eat both meat and plants. Many animals are not made that way. Cows, for example, cannot eat meat. The teeth and digestive system of cows are made for eating plants. Cows are herbivores.

Humans can eat both meat and plants, but they don’t always do that. Many things determine what a human might decide to eat. It often depends on where the person lives or what the person can afford. Sometimes people have to eat a certain way for health reasons, like a food allergy or intolerance or illness, such as diabetes. Sometimes people eat a certain way because of their religion. They may have certain customs about food all the time or they may have customs about food just at certain times of year. People who practice Islam, for example, do not eat pork. Roman Catholics often do not eat meat on Good Friday or do not eat meat on the Fridays during Lent.

Here are some common food habits you might hear people talk about:

Cool Dairy Free Recipes

  • Vegan – a person who does not eat or use anything that comes from an animal. A vegan will not eat meat, drink milk, eat eggs or wear leather.
  • Vegetarian – a person who does not eat meat or wear leather, although they might eat animal products like milk or eggs, because the animal does not die to produce those things.
  • Gluten Free – a person who does not eat gluten, a substance in cereal grains, like wheat. Gluten makes people sick if they have celiac disease. Gluten can also make people sick if they have an intolerance to it.
  • Dairy Free – a person who does not eat or drink dairy products like milk, butter or cheese. Typically, people are dairy free because of an allergy or intolerance, or because they are vegan.
  • Peanut Free – a person who does not eat peanuts. Usually this is because of an allergy or intolerance. Sometimes the person cannot eat peanuts whole, or eat any food that contains peanuts. Some people are so allergic they cannot eat something cooked in the same pan or served on the same plate as peanuts.

If you have an allergy or intolerance, or have personal convictions that cause you to eat a certain way, it can be difficult to find recipes that work for you. The Library has many, many recipe books to help you take care of yourself or stay true to your goals. Here are some books that will help you get started learning to eat healthy within the requirements of a special diet.

Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America: SafeEats Allergy Friendly Recipes

Books:

Why Doesn't Everyone Eat MeatDelicious Vegetarian Main DishesEasy Vegetarian Foods from Around the WorldHelp Yourself Cookbook for KidsFearless FoodBeat the WheatNo Egg on Your FaceCool Meat Free RecipesCool Nut Free RecipesCool Sugar Free RecipesCool Wheat Free RecipesI'm Allergic to PeanutsI'm Allergic to WheatThat's Why We Don't Eat Animals
Print This Post Print This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

11 + 7 =