Overdrive has released a new feature called hold redelivery. It allows you to suspend a hold without losing your place on the wait list.
Hold delivery replaces automatic hold checkout for all new and existing holds. This means you will need to check out your holds within three days of receiving your notification.
After receiving notification that a hold is available, you have three choices:
2. You can suspend the hold by selecting “deliver later.” This option passes the book to the next person in line while maintaining your place on the wait list. After the suspension period you set, you will be able to borrow the book when the next copy is available.
3. You can cancel the hold.
If you take no action, your hold will automatically be suspended as a one-time courtesy for 7 days. If no action is taken a second time, the hold will be cancelled automatically.
Watch this video tutorial to learn how it works:
We are excited to offer you this new feature! If you have questions about this change or need help, call or ask a Library staff member at any of our locations or text a librarian at 317 333-6877.
If you forget to borrow your available title during the pickup window, your hold will automatically be set to “deliver later” as a one-time courtesy or 7 days. After 7 days, your hold will be active again and you’ll receive another notification when the next copy is ready to borrow.
Don’t worry! You’ll receive a notification.
This change was made to give you more control over what you read and when you read it, so you can get around to checking every book off your must-read list.
This change is being rolled out for all OverDrive ebooks & audiobooks whether borrowed in Libby, the OverDrive app, or from the Overdrive website/catalog.