For Kids

If You Like Diary of a Wimpy Kid


01/27/2019

If you like reading Greg Heffley's diary, you might like some of these books that are also about kids trying to make their way in middle school. Some of these kids are also irreverent (that means disrespectful!) and lazy...just like Greg! Some of them write in a diary and some don't, but ALL of them are funny. We highly recommend Big Nate, Timothy Failure, Origami Yoda, Amelia Rules & Dear Dumb Diary!

Use your indyPL Library Card to check out books at any of our locations, or check out e-books and e-audiobooks from home right to your device. Click on a book jacket below to request a book or download it. Need help? Call or ask a Library staff member at any of our locations or text a librarian at 317 333-6877.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series:

1: Diary of a Wimpy Kid on CD, e-Book

2: Rodrick Rules on CD, e-Book

3: The Last Straw on CD, e-Book

4: Dog Days on CD, e-Book

5: The Ugly Truth on CD, e-Book

6: Cabin Fever on CD, e-Book

7: The Third Wheel on CD, e-Book

8: Hard Luck on CD, e-Book

9: The Long Haul on CD, e-Book

10: Old School on CD, e-Book

11: Double Down on CD, e-Book

12: The Getaway on CD, e-Book

13: The Meltdown on e-Book

If You Like the Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series Try One of These:


Galactic Hot Dog Cosmo's Wiener GetawayGalactic Hot Dogs Cosmo's Wiener Getaway or eAudio by Max Braillier When Michael G (yes, "G" is his whole last name, and that's why everyone calls him G-Man) has to keep a journal in Mrs. Rosario's class at school, naturally he writes about his ambition to have superpowers and join the superheroes of his city (like Captain Thunderman) in the fight for justice. After all, his friend Billy Demon just got an awesome winged flying suit and superpowers of his own, and now he's the most popular kid in school! Mikey would just love to have superpowers too, but how will he get them? And if he does get them, what will he do with them?


The G-Man Super JournalThe G-Man Super Journal: Awesome Origins or eBook by Chris Giarrusso Meet Cosmoe, the Earth-Boy. He's captain of the Neon Weiner, the finest flying food truck in the galaxy. Along with his bud, Big Humphree, he spends his days cruising the cosmos and staying crazy busy.


Charlie Joe Jackson’s Guide to Not ReadingCharlie Joe Jackson’s Guide to Not Reading or eBook by Tommy Greenwald Middle schooler Charlie Joe is proud of his success at avoiding reading, but eventually his schemes go too far.


Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were MadeTimmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made by Stephan Pastis Resolving to earn so much money that his mother will no longer stress out over the bills, eleven-year-old Timmy Failure launches a detective business with a lazy polar bear partner named Total but finds their enterprise "Total Failure, Inc." challenged by a college-bound spy and a four-foot-tall girl whom Timmy refuses to acknowledge.


The 13-Story TreehouseThe 13-Story Treehouse or eBook by Terry Denton Andy and Terry live in a treehouse. But it's not just any old treehouse, it's the most amazing treehouse in the world! This treehouse has thirteen stories, a bowling alley, a see-through swimming pool, a secret underground laboratory, and a marshmallow machine that follows you around and automatically shoots marshmallows into your mouth whenever you are hungry.


Doodlebug Doodlebug by Karen Young Moving is tough. But the hardest thing of all about the move that Doreen "Dodo" Bussey's family is making is that she suspects it might be because of her. Her mother gives Dodo a blank notebook, which she uses to chronicle the move and the first days in a new city.


Big Nate in a Class by HimselfBig Nate in a Class by Himself by Lincoln Peirce Supremely confident middle school student Nate Wright manages to make getting detention from every one of his teachers in the same day seem like an achievement.


The Strange Case of Origami YodaThe Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger Tommy and his friends describe their interactions with a paper finger puppet of Yoda, worn by their weird classmate Dwight, as they try to figure out whether or not the puppet can really predict the future. Includes instructions for making Origami Yoda.


The Whole World's CrazyThe Whole World's Crazy by Jimmy Gownley In this first book of Amelia's adventures, Amelia and her friends take on bullies (and Santa!), barely survive gym class, and receive a disgustingly detailed explanation of


Let's Pretend This Never HappenedLet's Pretend This Never Happened by Jim Benton In her diary, middle school student Jamie Kelly describes her life at home and at school, including her attempts to triumph over her nemesis, the beautiful and popular Angeline.


The Homework MachineThe Homework Machine by Dan Gutman Four fifth-grade students--a geek, a class clown, a teacher's pet, and a slacker--as well as their teacher and mothers, each relate events surrounding a computer programmed to complete homework assignments.


Lunch Walks Among UsLunch Walks Among Us by Jim Benton Franny K. Stein is a mad scientist who prefers all things spooky and creepy, but when she has trouble making friends at her new school she experiments with fitting in--which works until a monster erupts from the trashcan.


Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous LifeTales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life by Rachel Renee Russell Fourteen-year-old Nikki Maxwell writes in her diary of her struggle to be popular at her exclusive new private school, then of finding her place after she gives up on being part of the elite group.


The Adventures of Captain UnderpantsThe Adventures of Captain Underpants by Dav Pilkey When George and Harold hypnotize their principal into thinking that he is the superhero Captain Underpants, he leads them to the lair of the nefarious Dr. Diaper, where they must defeat his evil robot henchmen.


The Adventures of Captain UnderpantsMiddle School is Worse Than Meatloaf by Jennifer Holm Told entirely through notes, grocery receipts, report cards, bottle caps, and a vast array of other items, this hilarious story follows Ginny, who is having the worst school year ever, as she accidentally dyes her hair pink, throws live frogs in class, and loses the lead role in ballet to her ex-best friend.


The Adventures of Captain UnderpantsSchooled by Gordon Korman Homeschooled by his hippie grandmother, Capricorn (Cap) Anderson has never watched television, tasted a pizza, or even heard of a wedgie. But when his grandmother lands in the hospital, Cap is forced to move in with a guidance counselor and attend the local middle school. While Cap knows a lot about tie-dyeing and Zen Buddhism, no education could prepare him for the politics of public school.


Secret IdentitySecret Identity by Wendelin Van Draanen Fifth-grader Nolan Byrd, tired of being called names by the class bully, has a secret identity--Shredderman!

~ IndyPL_CarrieW