My Account

The Indianapolis Public Library is Honoring Black American Medical Heroes

The Indianapolis Public Library is Honoring Black American Medical Heroes
The Indianapolis Public Library is Honoring Black American Medical Heroes

The Indianapolis Public Library’s African American History Committee, alongside The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation and several community sponsors, is celebrating local medical heroes at the Black Medical Hero Reception taking place Oct. 14, 5:30 - 7:30 p.m., at Central Library in the Center for Black Literature & Culture.

The Library will honor 23 medical heroes who have contributed to improving health care in Indianapolis and the surrounding area with the Dr. George H. Rawls Award. The award was established by The Library in honor of the late Dr. Rawls, a trailblazing surgeon and highly respected community servant.

“The reception and award gives us an opportunity to highlight Black excellence in the medical field,” said Cordia Watkins, circulation manager and chairperson of The African American History Committee at The Indianapolis Public Library. “These first responders are making a difference and breaking down barriers as they work to improve the health and wellness of all members of the Indianapolis community.”

Dr. Virginia Caine, the director and chief medical officer of the Marion County Public Health Department, will be a guest speaker at the reception. Dr. Caine has earned a national reputation for her work in public health. She helped launch the first nationwide physician education program regarding AIDS for the National Medical Association, which was later duplicated by the American Medical Association. As co-director of the Indianapolis Healthy Babies Initiative, she was instrumental in leading an effort, in partnership with community leaders, to reduce the Black infant mortality rate.

Dr. Jerome Adams, former Indiana state health commissioner and the 20th U.S. surgeon general, will share pre-recorded remarks via video during this event.

In addition, an exhibit detailing Black contributions to medicine from the Black Inventors and Scientists Museums, Inc. will be on display at Central Library during the reception. While the reception is not open to the public, a photographic exhibit of the honored doctors will be available for public viewing between Oct. 1 – Nov. 30.

The Black Medical Hero Reception is made possible through gifts to The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation. Sponsors include presenting sponsor Eskenazi Health, sponsor Indiana University School of Medicine - Faculty Affairs, Professional Development, Diversity and IUPUI Division of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, and supporting sponsors Community Health Network, HPC International, Indiana University Health, Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine, OPYS Physician Services.

The following medical professionals will be honored during the reception:

• Dr. Leeandrea Sloan, MD

• Dr. Ernest Asamoah, MD

• Dr. Jocelyn Bush, MD

• Dr. Earle U. Robinson Jr., MD

• RN Essence Mack

• NP Charlesine Ford

• Dr. Jordan Holmes, MD

• Dr. Alexis Meriweather, MD

• Dr. Hilton M Hudson, MD

• Dr. Ashlie Stallion, MD

• Dr. Varon Cantrell, MD

• Dr. Clark Simons, MD

• Dr. Broderick Rhyant, MD

• Dr. Eric Yancy, MD

• Dr. Virginia Caine, MD

• Dr. Brownsyne Tucker Edmonds, MD

• Dr. David Austin, DDS

• Dr. Patricia Treadwell, MD

• Dr. Elicia Harris, MD

• Dr. Kim Harris, MD

• Dr. Indy Lane, MD

• Dr. Anthony L. Sanders, MD

• Dr. Glenda Westmoreland, MD